Skip to content

Breaking Up With God, Sarah Sentilles

2012/01/11

After many years of training to be a priest, Sarah Sentilles finds herself taking a Belief-o-matic quiz online to see if her beliefs actually do match up to the mainline Protestant tradition which she will soon be joining. As I read this, I found myself Googling “Belief-o-matic,” which, after twenty questions, told me that my top three matches were: mainline to liberal Protestant, Bah’ai faith, and Orthodox Quaker.

This book resonates with me on so many levels. Sentilles, who grew up in the church and spent many years studying theology and the ministry, evaluates her relationship with Christianity as if examining a personal romantic relationship, from the initial infatuation to the “going steady,” the highlighting of differences and the eventual parting. She raises many of the questions that have been tossed around amongst others my age — the divergence between the human concept of God and what God is; the alignment of churches with politics and government; the fallibility of doctrine and heresy; the manipulation of scripture and spiritual authority. She addresses Christianity through the lens of various theologians, historians, thinkers, and writers, taking their views and perspectives on faith and examining them in comparison and contrast to her slowly developing personal views. And although I find myself still somewhere in the midst of these, Sentilles’ conclusions and eventual separation from organized Christianity also strikes a chord with me.

I would like to write a book like this someday.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 2012/02/13 01:50

    Thank you for the beautiful review! I am honored to be included in your blog–and your last sentence is the highest compliment anyone can pay a writer. Thank you, and I look forward to reading the book you write!

  2. 2012/11/12 23:09

    Me too!

Leave a Reply

